AFRL Overview

The Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL) is the primary scientific research and development center for the Department of the Air Force. AFRL Headquarters is located at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. AFRL was created in October 1997 through the consolidation of four former Air Force laboratories and the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR). Since today’s global threats require multi-disciplinary solutions, AFRL is committed to supporting the warfighter in every domain: air, space, and cyberspace. One powerful laboratory is optimal for solving the complex, intertwined problems faced by our Air and Space Forces. We are excited to partner with the Space Force to provide agile, lean, and ready forces to defend American and Allied interests in space. AFRL delivers outstanding value by connecting with the warfighters of both services. 

Click here to view information about AFRL Technical Directorates. 

AFRL has locations in 10 states: California, Florida, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia.

Science & Technology Strategy: A Year in Review

In the Spring of 2019, the Department of the Air Force released the Air Force Science and Technology Strategy. We take a look at some of the top accomplishments over the last year as we respond to the strategy’s call to action.